Which AI tools translate documents and keep the formatting?
Last verified 2026-10-11Paid placement never changes our picks.
Short answer
As of October 2026, start with Lara Translate if you want a free monthly allowance and vendor-stated layout preservation, DeepL if you need glossaries, Office add-ins and team plans, and Google Translate if you just need a free one-off file. The main catch: keeping the layout is a vendor claim, so check complex PDFs by hand.
Top picks
Free monthly allowance with vendor-stated layout preservation
- Free tier
- Free: 60,000 characters a month, no credit card; free API up to 10,000 characte…
- Starting price
- From $11.99
- Platforms
- Web, iOS, Android, Chrome extension, API
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Free 60,000 characters a month, no card; Pro $11.99 billed monthly. Layout preservation is a vendor claim.
Teams needing glossaries, Office integration and apps
- Free tier
- Free translator available; limits not stated on pages read. Paid plans: 30-day…
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web, Windows, iOS, Android, Chrome extension, API
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Prices shown only in euros; Individual includes 3 file translations a month. 30-day trial of paid plans; free limits not stated.
Scanned files and pay-per-word document translation
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- From $4.99
- Platforms
- Web, API
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Free sign-up bills $0.005 per word; Basic $4.99 a month with 7-day trial. Vendor states layout kept and OCR for scans.
A free one-off translation of an Office file or PDF
- Free tier
- Free of charge per Google; file size limits not stated on the page read
- Starting price
- Free
- Platforms
- Web, iOS, Android
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Free; no account needed to open the tool. Its page states no file size limits or layout handling.
Developers translating DOCX, PPT and PDF files by page
- Free tier
- First 500,000 text characters a month free; credit does not apply to formatted…
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- API
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Documents $0.08 per page; the free 500,000 text characters a month exclude formatted documents.
Developers batch-translating documents inside Azure
- Free tier
- F0: 2M characters a month of standard translation; document translation not nam…
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- API
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Now named Azure Translator in Foundry Tools. Documents $15 per million characters; free F0 tier lists text only.
Prices come from each tool's fact block. "See pricing page" means we have not confirmed the number on the official pricing page in the last 30 days, so we do not show one.
How to choose
- If you translate a few files a month for free → Google Translate (free for .docx, .pdf, .pptx and .xlsx, but its page states no size limits or layout promise) or Lara Translate (60,000 free characters a month, no card).
- If keeping the layout matters most → Lara Translate or DocTranslator (both say they preserve layout; Lara across 60-plus formats, DocTranslator with OCR for scanned files; not tested by us).
- If you need glossaries, team seats and Word or Outlook integration → DeepL (30-day trial of paid plans; prices shown only in euros, and Individual includes 3 file translations a month).
- If you prefer to pay per use → DocTranslator ($0.005 per word on free sign-up) or a cloud API (Google Cloud Translation is $0.08 per document page; Azure is $15 per million characters for documents).
- If you automate batches in code → Google Cloud Translation or Azure Document Translation (Google's free text credit excludes formatted documents; Azure's free F0 tier lists text only). Read data-handling terms before uploading sensitive files.
How we checked
- 6 of 6 picks have a Toolsfine fact block.
- 6 of 6 picks had their pricing checked on the official site in the last 30 days.
- 1 of 1 models also suggested Lara Translate.Panel: Claude (2026-10-10).
- Verified on 2026-10-11.
Listed in other directories
| Tool | theresanaiforthat.com | futurepedia.io | toolify.ai |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lara Translate | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| DeepL | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| DocTranslator | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Google Translate | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Google Cloud Translation | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Azure Document Translation | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
"Not checked" means we could not open that directory's page; it does not mean the tool is missing there.
Where sources disagree
- Azure rebrand: Microsoft's product page now redirects to Azure Translator in Foundry Tools (formerly AI Translator). Whether the free F0 tier covers document translation is unclear; documents are listed only under the paid S1 tier.
- Lara Translate price and formats: The research pass recorded $9.99 a month (annual billing) and 70+ formats; the fact check read $11.99 on monthly billing and 60+ formats on the current page.
- DocTranslator billing: The research pass read Basic as $1.99 a week from the weekly view; the fact check read $4.99 a month with the monthly toggle. Weekly, monthly and yearly options exist.
- DeepL currency and free plan: DeepL's pricing page showed only euros for a German visitor, so no US dollar price is given. A free translator exists, but its file limits were not stated on the pages read.
Also mentioned elsewhere
Other sources name these tools for this job. They are not in our picks because we have not checked them yet.
- Smartcat · Official siteTranslation platform for localization teams with AI and human linguists; annual plans.
- SYSTRAN · Official siteTranslates 30+ document formats into 50+ languages per its site; 14-day trial, price not readable.
- Lilt · Official siteEnterprise AI translation with optional human review; contact sales only.
- Pairaphrase · Official siteDocument translation with translation memory for professional teams; pricing page did not render.
Know a tool we should check? Submit it →
Related answers
Changelog
- 2026-10-12 · Page updated
- 2026-10-12 · First published
- 2026-10-11 · Picks, prices and sources re-checked
Last verified 2026-10-11 · next re-check 2027-01-09. Report an error
Researched with AI assistance and checked by our editors. AI can make mistakes and vendors change plans often — confirm prices and terms on the vendor's site before you buy.
Paid placement never changes our picks. Data: JSON