Which AI presentation makers can turn a document into slides?
Last verified 2026-10-11Paid placement never changes our picks.
Short answer
As of October 2026, start with Gamma if you want to import a PDF or PowerPoint and try it free, Plus AI if your slides must be built inside PowerPoint or Google Slides, and Beautiful.ai if you want layouts that realign as you edit. The main catch: uploading a document is often a paid-plan feature, so check the plan first.
Top picks
Turning a PDF or PPTX into a deck with a free start
- Free tier
- New accounts start with 400 credits, no monthly refresh; up to 10 slides per pr…
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web, iOS, Android, API
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Free credits do not refresh monthly. Paid prices could not be read on our check; confirm on the pricing page.
Building decks inside PowerPoint or Google Slides
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- From $15
- Platforms
- Web (PowerPoint and Google Slides add-in)
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
No free plan; 7-day trial, then $15 per user a month billed monthly. Document upload is a Pro feature.
Auto-formatted business layouts and brand-controlled team decks
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- From $45
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
No free plan; 14-day trial. Pro is $45 billed monthly versus $14.50 a month billed annually.
Text or document to slides in Google Slides or PowerPoint
- Free tier
- Basic: 1 presentation/month, 1,000-character input, 10 AI credits/month (monthl…
- Starting price
- From $12
- Platforms
- Web (Google Slides, PowerPoint, ChatGPT)
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Free Basic allows 1 presentation a month. Pro is $12 a month billed monthly and adds PDF and Word upload.
Generating a deck from a file, then rehearsing it
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- From $24.99
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
No free plan listed. Pro is $24.99 billed monthly, much less on annual billing.
Designing slides when you already use Canva
- Free tier
- Up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses, shared across AI tools
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Free plan has up to 20 AI uses shared across all tools; a document-to-deck flow was not confirmed on its pricing page.
Prices come from each tool's fact block. "See pricing page" means we have not confirmed the number on the official pricing page in the last 30 days, so we do not show one.
How to choose
- If your source is a PDF or an old PowerPoint → Gamma (imports PDF and PPTX and exports to PPTX, PDF and Google Slides; new accounts start with free credits).
- If your company works only in PowerPoint or Google Slides → Plus AI or SlidesAI (both run inside those apps; uploading a PDF or Word file needs Plus AI Pro or SlidesAI Pro).
- If you want to start free with no trial clock → Gamma (400 one-time credits, up to 10 slides per prompt) or SlidesAI (Basic allows 1 presentation a month); Plus AI and Beautiful.ai offer trials only, and Decktopus lists no free plan.
- If the deck must follow brand rules → Beautiful.ai (brand themes and locked slides on Teams; security page states SOC 2 Type II) or SlidesAI (Brand Kit imports your own PPTX template).
- If you will present live and want practice → Decktopus (its Loop mode rehearses delivery with simulated audience questions and pacing feedback).
How we checked
- 6 of 6 picks have a Toolsfine fact block.
- 6 of 6 picks had their pricing checked on the official site in the last 30 days.
- 1 of 1 models also suggested Gamma.Panel: Claude (2026-10-10).
- Verified on 2026-10-11.
Listed in other directories
| Tool | theresanaiforthat.com | futurepedia.io | toolify.ai |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gamma | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Plus AI | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Beautiful.ai | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| SlidesAI | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Decktopus | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Canva | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
"Not checked" means we could not open that directory's page; it does not mean the tool is missing there.
Where sources disagree
- Gamma prices unreadable: Gamma's pricing page served a bot challenge to our browser, so no paid price is published here. A directory lists a starting price we did not use because it is secondary.
- Monthly vs annual billing: Gaps are large: Beautiful.ai Pro is $45 billed monthly but $14.50 a month on annual billing, and Decktopus Pro is $24.99 monthly versus $9.99 annual. SlidesAI's earlier $7 promo is gone, and its Premium monthly figure looks like a yearly total.
- Beautiful.ai Teams wording: The Teams card says $40 includes 3 users, while the summary line describes $40 per user. Ask the vendor before budgeting for a team.
- Tome is gone: Older lists still recommend Tome. Its site returned a deployment-not-found error on our check, so it is excluded.
Also mentioned elsewhere
Other sources name these tools for this job. They are not in our picks because we have not checked them yet.
- Pitch · Official siteCollaborative deck tool with AI credits and a free plan; priced in euros, document upload not stated.
- Presentations.ai · Official siteAI deck generator with a free starter tier; prices vary by country and document upload is not stated.
- Visme · Official siteDesign suite for decks and infographics; PowerPoint export is listed inconsistently across its plans.
- Slidesgo · Official siteTemplate library with an AI generator and a few free AI decks a month; document import not stated.
- Microsoft 365 Copilot · Official siteCopilot in PowerPoint comes bundled with business Microsoft 365 plans; consumer terms not checked.
- Prezi · Official sitePresentation tool with AI features; its pricing page did not load on our check.
- Genspark · Official siteAI agent workspace that also makes slides; pricing sits behind a login, so not evaluated.
Know a tool we should check? Submit it →
Related answers
Changelog
- 2026-10-12 · Page updated
- 2026-10-12 · First published
- 2026-10-11 · Picks, prices and sources re-checked
Last verified 2026-10-11 · next re-check 2027-01-09. Report an error
Researched with AI assistance and checked by our editors. AI can make mistakes and vendors change plans often — confirm prices and terms on the vendor's site before you buy.
Paid placement never changes our picks. Data: JSON