Which AI scribe tools write clinical notes from patient visits?
Last verified 2026-10-11Paid placement never changes our picks.
Short answer
As of October 2026, start with Freed if you are an independent clinician who wants a self-serve scribe, Upheal if you write therapy session notes, and Abridge if a health system is buying for many clinicians. The main catch: HIPAA and BAA terms are vendor statements, so get a signed BAA before any patient data goes in.
Top picks
Independent clinicians who want a self-serve scribe
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- From $39
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
7-day trial, no card; Starter $39 a month for 40 notes. Organisation-wide BAA listed only under group admin features.
Testing an ambient scribe on a free seat
- Free tier
- Free plan: one free seat, unlimited ambient documentation, cited clinical answe…
- Starting price
- From $150
- Platforms
- Web, macOS, Windows
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Free seat with unlimited ambient documentation. Clinician $150 per user a month billed monthly. Vendor states a BAA is available.
Therapists and counsellors writing session notes
- Free tier
- Free $0: AI notes from text, dictation and uploads only; individual therapy only
- Starting price
- From $39
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Therapy only. Free plan covers text, dictation and uploads; AI Notes $39 a month. Vendor states a BAA for every account.
Health systems rolling out ambient notes at scale
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Not stated
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
No list price or self-serve plan; contact sales. Vendor publishes a BAA page and lists SOC 2 in its trust center.
Organisations already running Microsoft or Epic clinical workflows
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Quote-only through Microsoft; availability varies by country and role. HIPAA and BAA terms are not stated on the product page.
Clinics wanting notes, dictation and coding inside major EHRs
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- iOS, Android
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Quote-only, no free plan. Syncs with Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth and MEDITECH. Vendor states SOC 2 Type 2; no BAA mention found.
Ambient notes across web, mobile and a Chrome extension
- Free tier
- Homepage offers a 'Try it for free' option; limits and length not stated.
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web, iOS, Android, Chrome extension
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
No price list; the homepage offers a free try-out with unstated terms. Vendor states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
Prices come from each tool's fact block. "See pricing page" means we have not confirmed the number on the official pricing page in the last 30 days, so we do not show one.
How to choose
- If you want to try ambient notes before paying → Heidi Health (the vendor offers a free seat with unlimited ambient documentation; Clinician is $150 per user a month billed monthly).
- If you are an independent clinician who wants a simple paid plan → Freed (7-day trial with no card; Starter is $39 a month for 40 notes; an organisation-wide BAA is listed only under group admin features).
- If you write therapy or counselling notes → Upheal (built for therapy sessions; the free plan covers text, dictation and uploads, AI Notes is $39 a month, and the vendor states a BAA for every account).
- If a health system needs notes inside its EHR → Abridge, Microsoft Dragon Copilot, Suki or Nabla (all quote-only; Suki lists Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth and MEDITECH; Dragon Copilot and Nabla list Epic).
- If patient data will touch the tool → get a signed BAA and storage terms first, and have the clinician review and sign every draft (compliance claims here are vendor-stated; this page is not medical or legal advice).
How we checked
- 7 of 7 picks have a Toolsfine fact block.
- 7 of 7 picks had their pricing checked on the official site in the last 30 days.
- 1 of 1 models also suggested Freed.Panel: Claude (2026-10-10).
- Verified on 2026-10-11.
Listed in other directories
| Tool | theresanaiforthat.com | futurepedia.io | toolify.ai |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freed | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Heidi Health | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Upheal | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Abridge | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Microsoft Dragon Copilot | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Suki | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Nabla | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
"Not checked" means we could not open that directory's page; it does not mean the tool is missing there.
Where sources disagree
- Heidi Health US price: The research pass could not read a US price (regional pages showed AUD and CAD only). The fact check later read $150 per user a month billed monthly, or $110 billed annually, after a long page render.
- Freed billing basis: Freed's Monthly/Annually switch sits only on the Premier card, which showed $104 by default and $119 after switching. Starter and Core carry no qualifier and were read as monthly prices.
- BAA coverage differs: Heidi, Upheal and Abridge state a BAA is available; Freed lists an organisation-wide BAA only for group admins; Suki and Nabla show HIPAA wording but no BAA mention; Microsoft's product page states neither. All vendor-stated.
- Product names and lineage: Microsoft presents Dragon Copilot as the successor to its Dragon and DAX line; the older DAX Copilot name was not verified separately. Commure's ambient line may include Augmedix, also unverified.
Also mentioned elsewhere
Other sources name these tools for this job. They are not in our picks because we have not checked them yet.
- Tali AI · Official siteScribe plus dictation for clinicians; free personal plan with 5 scribes a month per its pricing page.
- Sunoh.ai · Official siteAmbient scribe with iPhone, Android and web apps; price shown as a limited-time offer; vendor states a BAA is included.
- DeepScribe · Official siteAmbient scribe built for oncology, embedding in OncoEMR and iKnowMed per its site; no published price.
- Commure Ambient AI · Official siteTiered ambient documentation, up to human-assisted editing; enterprise sales, no published price.
- Ambience Healthcare · Official siteEnterprise documentation and coding for health systems; no published price.
Know a tool we should check? Submit it →
Related answers
Changelog
- 2026-10-12 · Page updated
- 2026-10-12 · First published
- 2026-10-11 · Picks, prices and sources re-checked
Last verified 2026-10-11 · next re-check 2027-01-09. Report an error
Researched with AI assistance and checked by our editors. AI can make mistakes and vendors change plans often — confirm prices and terms on the vendor's site before you buy.
Paid placement never changes our picks. Data: JSON