AI tools for creating e-learning courses

Last verified 2026-10-10Paid placement never changes our picks.

Short answer

As of October 2026, start with Articulate 360 if your training team needs full authoring with SCORM or xAPI publishing, Mindsmith if you want AI to turn documents into interactive lessons on a free plan, and Synthesia if you need presenter-style video lessons. The main catch: LMS export and watermark removal usually sit on paid plans.

Top picks

  1. Articulate 360 AI

    Training teams needing full course authoring and LMS publishing

    Free tier
    No free tier
    Starting price
    See pricing page
    Platforms
    Not stated
    Last verified
    2026-10-10

    Sold per seat per year: $1,449 Personal, $1,749 Teams. No free plan or monthly option shown.

  2. Mindsmith

    Turning documents and SOPs into interactive lessons

    Free tier
    5 generated lessons, 2 shared lessons, up to 5 lessons in courses, limited AI m…
    Starting price
    See pricing page
    Platforms
    Web
    Last verified
    2026-10-10

    Free covers 5 generated lessons; paid tier is per seat with unclear billing basis. SSO needs a sales quote.

  3. Synthesia

    Presenter-style training videos in 140+ languages

    Free tier
    500 credits/mo (about 10 min video), stock avatars, watermark; no card
    Starting price
    From $29
    Platforms
    Web, API
    Last verified
    2026-10-10

    Free gives about 10 watermarked minutes a month; Starter is $29 a month. Credits limit video volume.

  4. Colossyan

    Avatar video lessons with quizzes, branching and SCORM

    Free tier
    Starter: 20 min/mo NEO video, 1 editor, 20-min video length; no card
    Starting price
    See pricing page
    Platforms
    Web, API
    Last verified
    2026-10-10

    Free Starter gives 20 minutes a month without SCORM; Professional caps SCORM exports at 5 a month.

  5. Easygenerator

    Subject experts authoring SCORM courses with EU hosting

    Free tier
    No free tier
    Starting price
    From $125
    Platforms
    Web
    Last verified
    2026-10-10

    Pro is $125 a month for one author and 100 learners; AI video, coaching and translation cost extra.

  6. iSpring Suite

    Building courses from existing PowerPoint slides

    Free tier
    No free tier
    Starting price
    See pricing page
    Platforms
    PowerPoint add-in, web review app
    Last verified
    2026-10-10

    Per author per year: $970, or $1,290 with AI. 14-day trial, no free plan.

  7. Coursebox

    Generating courses plus a built-in white-label LMS

    Free tier
    Up to 3 AI mini courses (5 pages each), unlimited learners, watermark; no card
    Starting price
    See pricing page
    Platforms
    Web, API
    Last verified
    2026-10-10

    Free makes 3 watermarked mini courses; paid prices did not load on its pricing page.

Prices come from each tool's fact block. "See pricing page" means we have not confirmed the number on the official pricing page in the last 30 days, so we do not show one.

How to choose

  • If courses must run in your company LMS → pick a SCORM or xAPI exporter such as Articulate 360, iSpring Suite, Easygenerator or Mindsmith, and check which plan unlocks export.
  • If you want presenter videos rather than slides → Synthesia or Colossyan (AI avatar video; both meter usage by minutes or credits, so estimate total minutes first).
  • If your training already lives in PowerPoint → iSpring Suite (adds quizzes, role-plays and AI voiceover inside PowerPoint; sold per author per year).
  • If you start from a document on a small budget → try free plans first: Mindsmith (5 generated lessons), Coursebox (3 mini courses) or Colossyan Starter (20 minutes a month), and expect badges or watermarks.
  • If you need a learner portal without buying an LMS → Coursebox (includes a white-label LMS, plus SCORM and LTI export).

How we checked

  • 7 of 7 picks have a Toolsfine fact block.
  • 7 of 7 picks had their pricing checked on the official site in the last 30 days.
  • 1 of 1 models also suggested Articulate 360 AI.Panel: Claude (2026-10-10).
  • Verified on 2026-10-10.

Listed in other directories

Tooltheresanaiforthat.comfuturepedia.iotoolify.ai
Articulate 360 AINot checkedNot checkedNot checked
MindsmithListedNot checkedNot checked
SynthesiaListedListedListed
ColossyanListedListedNot checked
EasygeneratorNot checkedNot checkedNot checked
iSpring SuiteNot checkedNot checkedNot checked
CourseboxListedListedListed

"Not checked" means we could not open that directory's page; it does not mean the tool is missing there.

Where sources disagree

  • Synthesia SCORM export: Yesterday's pricing read listed SCORM export as Enterprise-only; today's product facts mention SCORM export without naming a plan. Confirm before relying on it.
  • Easygenerator AI and free plan: The site says its AI is in every plan, but the comparison table shows full AI only on Pro, and limits on the free plan after the trial are not stated.
  • Mindsmith free plan and tiers: One read described the free plan in one-time AI credits, today's page in generated lessons; the paid tier is called Business and Professional in different places.
  • Different jobs mixed together: Roundups mix authoring suites, avatar-video tools and course-selling platforms. They solve different problems, so rankings across them disagree.

Also mentioned elsewhere

Other sources name these tools for this job. They are not in our picks because we have not checked them yet.

  • Thinkific · Official siteCourse hosting and selling platform with an AI outline helper; not a full authoring suite.
  • Kajabi · Official siteCourse-selling platform with AI creator tools; not checked today.
  • Teachable · Official siteCourse-selling platform with AI helpers; not checked today.
  • 360Learning · Official siteCollaborative authoring combined with an LMS; not checked today.
  • Elucidat · Official siteEnterprise authoring suite; not checked today.
  • Sana · Official siteAI learning platform for companies; not checked today.

Know a tool we should check? Submit it →

Related answers

Changelog

  • 2026-10-10 · Picks, prices and sources re-checked
  • 2026-10-10 · Page updated
  • 2026-10-10 · First published

Last verified 2026-10-10 · next re-check 2027-01-08. Report an error

Paid placement never changes our picks. Data: JSON