Which AI video generator should I use?
Last verified 2026-10-31In editorial reviewPaid placement never changes our picks.
Short answer
As of October 2026, start with Google Flow if you already pay for a Google AI plan, Runway if you want several video models under one plan, and Kling AI if you need clips longer than a few seconds. The catch: all of these spend credits per clip, and free allowances cover only a few short tests.
Top picks
Prompt-to-video scenes using credits from a Google AI plan
- Free tier
- Limited Flow access on the Free Google AI plan; credit amount not listed
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Google AI Plus ($4.99 a month) includes 200 Flow credits and Pro 1,000. Credits per clip are not listed.
Several video models in one credit plan
- Free tier
- 125 one-time credits, selected models, 5GB storage; watermark policy not stated
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web, iOS
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Standard is $15 a month billed monthly with 625 credits. Free accounts get 125 one-time credits.
Clips up to 15 seconds, extendable to 3 minutes
- Free tier
- Basic plan $0 listed; credit amount not stated; element creation 30, 1 video pe…
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web, iOS, Android
- Last verified
- 2026-10-11
Free plan lists 3 uses a day. A first-month offer makes the regular monthly price unclear.
Reference-driven video and images in one workspace
- Free tier
- No free tier
- Starting price
- From $30
- Platforms
- Web, iOS
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
No free plan; individual plans start at $30 a month on monthly billing.
Short stylised clips on a low monthly plan
- Free tier
- No monthly credits (credit packs only); no watermark; no commercial licence
- Starting price
- From $10
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Starter is $10 a month billed monthly. The free plan has no monthly credits and no commercial licence.
MiniMax text-to-video with free trial credits
- Free tier
- Free plan $0/month: one-time free trial credits, Hailuo models only
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-11
Free plan gives one-time trial credits. The subscription page did not load for us, so no price.
Firefly and partner video models with Adobe credits
- Free tier
- Daily generations across image, video and audio; limits refresh each day; count…
- Starting price
- From $9.99
- Platforms
- Web, iOS, Android
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Daily free generations. Adobe pages blocked our browser today; plan facts were last read on October 10.
Prices come from each tool's fact block. "See pricing page" means we have not confirmed the number on the official pricing page in the last 30 days, so we do not show one.
How to choose
- If you already pay for Google AI Plus, Pro or Ultra → Google Flow (each plan includes Flow credits: 200 on Plus, 1,000 on Pro, 10,000 or 25,000 on Ultra).
- If you want to compare models without separate subscriptions → Runway (its plans list Gen-4.5, Kling, Seedance and Nano Banana Pro in one credit pool).
- If you need longer clips → Kling AI (its app listing states up to 15 seconds per generation, extendable to 3 minutes).
- If you want a cheap monthly plan you can cancel → Pika Starter or Runway Standard (both billed monthly); Luma has no free plan.
- If you start from your own photo or need sound → see /ask/image-to-video-ai-tools for animating an image and /ask/ai-video-generator-with-sound for native audio.
How we checked
- 7 of 7 picks have a Toolsfine fact block.
- 7 of 7 picks had their pricing checked on the official site in the last 30 days.
- 1 of 1 models also suggested Google Flow / Veo.Panel: Claude (2026-10-30).
- Verified on 2026-10-31.
Listed in other directories
| Tool | theresanaiforthat.com | futurepedia.io | toolify.ai |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google Flow | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Runway | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Kling AI | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Luma Dream Machine | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Pika | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Hailuo AI | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| Adobe Firefly | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
"Not checked" means we could not open that directory's page; it does not mean the tool is missing there.
Where sources disagree
- Sora has shut down: OpenAI's help center says the Sora web and app experiences ended on April 26, 2026 and the Sora API on September 24, 2026, so Sora is not a pick.
- Kling monthly price: Kling's plan page shows a first-purchase offer next to a lower recurring figure, so the regular monthly price is not clear; no price is shown.
- Adobe and Dreamina pages: adobe.com refused our browser today, so Firefly figures come from our October 10 check. Dreamina's pricing address returned 404, so Dreamina is not a pick.
Also mentioned elsewhere
Other sources name these tools for this job. They are not in our picks because we have not checked them yet.
- Higgsfield · Official siteMulti-model video app; site reachable on 2026-10-30; not reviewed in detail
- LTX Studio · Official siteLightricks storyboard-to-video studio; site reachable on 2026-10-30; not reviewed in detail
- Vidu · Official siteText and image to video; site reachable on 2026-10-30; not reviewed in detail
Know a tool we should check? Submit it →
Related answers
Changelog
- 2026-10-31 · Picks, prices and sources re-checked
- 2026-10-31 · Page updated
- 2026-10-31 · First published
Last verified 2026-10-31 · next re-check 2027-01-29. Report an error
Researched with AI assistance; editor check in progress. AI can make mistakes and vendors change plans often — confirm prices and terms on the vendor's site before you buy.
Paid placement never changes our picks. Data: JSON