Which AI Chrome extensions are worth installing?
Last verified 2026-10-31In editorial reviewPaid placement never changes our picks.
Short answer
As of October 2026, start with Grammarly if you mainly want writing fixes, MaxAI if you want page summaries and chat in a sidebar, and Claude in Chrome if you want an assistant that clicks and fills forms for you. The catch: these extensions read the pages you open, so check their permissions first.
Top picks
Writing fixes in Gmail, Docs and web forms
- Free tier
- Spelling and grammar checks, tone detection, 100 AI prompts per month
- Starting price
- From $30
- Platforms
- Chrome, Edge, Safari, desktop
- Last verified
- 2026-10-12
Free tier includes 100 AI prompts a month. The plans page showed Pro at $12 without a billing label.
Page, PDF and video summaries in a sidebar
- Free tier
- Unlimited chat on a fast free model, 3 Pro chats per day, limited file uploads
- Starting price
- From $30
- Platforms
- Chrome, Edge
- Last verified
- 2026-10-30
Free plan: unlimited chat on a free model plus 3 Pro chats a day. Pro is $30 billed monthly.
An assistant that clicks, types and fills forms
- Free tier
- Chat, web search, file creation, code execution, memory; no Opus; 5 projects; 5…
- Starting price
- From $20
- Platforms
- Chrome
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Built by Anthropic, the maker of the model that drafted this page; held to the same standard. Paid Claude plans only.
A sidebar plus an agent for multi-step web tasks
- Free tier
- Free to install; free usage limits not stated on the pricing page
- Starting price
- From $10
- Platforms
- Chrome, Edge, web
- Last verified
- 2026-10-30
Nano is US$10 a month billed monthly. Free use is offered, but its limits are not stated.
Chat, writing and translation across browser, desktop and phone
- Free tier
- 40 accesses to basic models daily; limited trials of image/video generation and…
- Starting price
- See pricing page
- Platforms
- Chrome, web, desktop, mobile
- Last verified
- 2026-10-30
Free plan: 40 basic-model uses a day. Only yearly prices were shown, so no monthly figure.
Built into Chrome, nothing to install
- Free tier
- Free with a Google Account; limited Nano Banana Pro; compute-based limits reset…
- Starting price
- From $4.99
- Platforms
- Chrome desktop
- Last verified
- 2026-10-10
Auto browse needs Google AI Pro or Ultra. It is a browser feature, not an extension.
Prices come from each tool's fact block. "See pricing page" means we have not confirmed the number on the official pricing page in the last 30 days, so we do not show one.
How to choose
- If you want writing fixes in Gmail, Docs and web forms → Grammarly (free tier: grammar checks plus 100 AI prompts a month).
- If you want a sidebar that summarizes pages, PDFs and videos → MaxAI, Sider or Monica (all three have a free level).
- If you want the assistant to act on the page (click, type, fill forms) → Claude in Chrome on a paid Claude plan, or Gemini's auto browse on Google AI Pro or Ultra.
- If you would rather not install anything → Gemini in Chrome is built into the browser itself.
- If you work with sensitive accounts → read each extension's permissions; page assistants can see the signed-in pages where you use them.
How we checked
- 6 of 6 picks have a Toolsfine fact block.
- 6 of 6 picks had their pricing checked on the official site in the last 30 days.
- 1 of 1 models also suggested Grammarly.Panel: Claude (2026-10-30).
- Verified on 2026-10-31.
Listed in other directories
| Tool | theresanaiforthat.com | futurepedia.io | toolify.ai |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grammarly | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| MaxAI | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Claude in Chrome | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Sider | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Monica | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
| Gemini in Chrome | Not checked | Listed | Not checked |
"Not checked" means we could not open that directory's page; it does not mean the tool is missing there.
Where sources disagree
- Fairness disclosure: Claude is built by Anthropic, the maker of the model that drafted this page; held to the same standard. Anthropic rows use the same fields and plain wording as the others, and ranks follow the reader's situation, not preference.
- Grammarly price label: Grammarly's plans page showed Pro at $12 with no billing basis, while our October 12 check read $30 billed monthly; the table keeps the October 12 value.
- Pricing we could not read: Monica rendered yearly prices only, and Merlin's pricing page sat behind a bot check, so Merlin is not a pick.
- Older library records: QuillBot, HARPA AI and Wordtune are in our library, but their facts are older than 30 days or the records are pending, so they are not picks this time.
Also mentioned elsewhere
Other sources name these tools for this job. They are not in our picks because we have not checked them yet.
- Compose AI · Official siteWriting autocomplete extension; site reachable on 2026-10-30; not reviewed in detail
- ChatGPT Writer · Official siteEmail and message writing extension; site reachable on 2026-10-30; not reviewed in detail
- NoteGPT · Official siteVideo and page summary tool; site reachable on 2026-10-30; not reviewed in detail
Know a tool we should check? Submit it →
Related answers
Changelog
- 2026-10-31 · Picks, prices and sources re-checked
- 2026-10-31 · Page updated
- 2026-10-31 · First published
Last verified 2026-10-31 · next re-check 2027-01-29. Report an error
Researched with AI assistance; editor check in progress. AI can make mistakes and vendors change plans often — confirm prices and terms on the vendor's site before you buy.
Paid placement never changes our picks. Data: JSON