Otter.ai logo
AI Tool Profile

Otter.ai

Otter is an AI meeting agent and notetaker with real-time transcription, summaries and action items. The free Basic plan includes 300 transcription minutes per month.

Website
otter.ai
Pricing model
Freemium
Price start
From $16.99/mo

Description of Otter.ai

Otter.ai Inc. offers an AI meeting agent and notetaker that provides real-time transcription, live chat, automated summaries, insights and action items. The vendor calls it a conversational knowledge engine. Desktop apps for Mac and Windows, iOS and Android apps and a Chrome extension are listed.

Otter.ai screenshot
Otter.ai official website

Named integrations include Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, Google Calendar, Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Notion, Asana and Claude. ChatGPT can reach meeting data through Otter's MCP server. The pages we read do not describe a public API.

The Basic plan is free forever and allows 300 transcription minutes per user per month, 30 minutes per conversation, three lifetime imported files and 20 AI chat queries per month. Pro lists a $16.99 monthly price, with a $8.49 offer valid only with an India-issued card, and allows 1,200 minutes and 90-minute conversations. Pro annual is $8.33 per month. Business is $24 monthly or $19.99 billed annually, with unlimited meetings and four-hour conversations. Enterprise requires contacting sales.

The homepage says Otter is built with enterprise security controls but names no certifications. A July 2025 blog post says Otter became HIPAA compliant after an independent assessment and already holds SOC 2 Type II, but it does not mention a business associate agreement. A security page did not load for us. Data residency is not stated, so ask the vendor for the report and BAA terms before using it with regulated data.

Features of Otter.ai

  1. Real-time transcription with summaries, action items and AI chat across meetings.
  2. Mac, Windows, iOS and Android apps and a Chrome extension, with integrations to Zoom, Teams, Meet, Slack and CRMs.
  3. Free Basic plan with 300 minutes per month; SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA stated in a vendor blog post.

Frequently asked questions

Is Otter free?

Yes. Basic is free forever with 300 transcription minutes per user per month, 30 minutes per conversation and 3 lifetime imported files. Paid plans raise those limits.

Is Otter SOC 2 compliant?

A vendor blog post from July 2025 says Otter holds SOC 2 Type II and has become HIPAA compliant. The homepage names no certifications and a BAA is not mentioned.

How much does Otter cost?

Pro lists $16.99 per month on monthly billing, or $8.33 per month billed annually. Business is $24 monthly or $19.99 annually. A cheaper Pro offer applies only to India-issued cards.

Website: https://otter.ai/

Company: Otter.ai Inc.

Key facts

Familiar notetaker with a free tier of 300 minutes a month. Pro lists $16.99 monthly; a lower offer is India-card only. SOC 2 Type II is stated only in a blog post, HIPAA has no BAA mention, and residency is not stated.

Pricing model Freemium
Free tier Yes · 300 transcription min/user/month; 30 min per conversation; 3 lifetime imports
Starting price $16.99 / month
Data residency Not verified
Compliance (as stated by vendor) SOC 2 Type II (claimed)
Integrations Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, Google Calendar, Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Notion, Asana
Public API Not verified
Self-hostable Not verified
Official site Online (auto-checked 2026-10-09)
Can a general AI assistant replace it? A general LLM can summarize a transcript you paste but cannot join meetings live or keep a searchable archive. Otter adds real-time capture, storage and integrations.
Last verified 2026-10-10 by editor

Alternatives & Similar Tools

Fireflies.ai logo

Fireflies is an AI meeting assistant that transcribes, summarizes and searches meetings, with web, mobile, desktop and API access. The Free plan includes 400 minutes of storage per team.

Fellow logo
Fellow Freemium

Fellow is an AI meeting assistant that records, transcribes and summarizes meetings and tracks action items. The Free plan has 5 AI notes lifetime; BAAs are available for regulated customers.

Read AI logo
Read AI Freemium

Read AI is an AI meeting notetaker for Teams, Meet and Zoom that produces summaries, transcripts and action items. The Free plan includes 5 meeting transcripts and 5 reports per month.

Avoma logo
Avoma Paid

Avoma is an AI meeting assistant and conversation intelligence platform for sales and customer teams, covering notes, scheduling, coaching and CRM updates. It offers a 14-day trial and lists SOC 2 Type II.

Update history

  1. 2026-10-10 · ai alternative note updated (editor)
  2. 2026-10-10 · editor verdict updated (editor)
  3. 2026-10-10 · integrations updated (editor)
  4. 2026-10-10 · compliance updated (editor)
  5. 2026-10-10 · pricing page url updated (editor)
  6. 2026-10-10 · starting price usd updated (editor)
  7. 2026-10-10 · free tier updated (editor)
  8. 2026-10-10 · pricing model updated (editor)
  9. 2026-09-24 · site status updated (auto-check)

Beyond the tool

Need the outcome rather than the software?