Counsel Health

AI medical chat backed by licensed physicians who can join for consultations, prescriptions and referrals.

Editorial listing · Not paidLast verified 2026-09-29AI-native service

Visit website ↗

Company basics

HQ
United States
Delivery model
Hybrid (shared operation)
Pricing model
Subscription
Starting price
From $29

Scope

Industries
Healthcare
Regions
United States (all states except AR, DC, KS, MS, NM, RI, WA, WV)
Languages
English

About Counsel Health

Counsel Health operates a digital healthcare service that pairs a medical AI assistant with licensed physicians. Adults can use the AI for health questions, symptom assessment and guidance, and can bring in a physician for consultations, non-controlled medication prescriptions and refills, lab panels, specialist referrals, second opinions and work absence notes. The service is offered in most US states, with a listed set of exclusions.

Users start in a chat with Counsel AI for information gathering and initial guidance. A licensed physician can join the conversation, which the site says typically happens within about 15 minutes during clinical hours. Patient portal connections can be used to bring in medical history, and the company lists APIs and single sign-on for enterprise partners such as health plans, health systems and employers.

On data, the company states that it is HIPAA compliant and SOC 2 certified, does not sell data, and does not use it to train AI models. Medical records are accessed only with the user's consent. The company describes its mission as multiplying clinical capacity through an AI-enabled, physician-supervised model.

What they do

  • Human review includedSource · checked 2026-09-29Site says physicians join AI conversations; press release says physicians step in for diagnosis, prescriptions, referrals.
  • Signed off by licensed professionals (CPA, attorney…)Source · checked 2026-09-29Board-certified physicians handle consultations and prescriptions via a physician-led medical group.

Pricing

Pricing model
Subscription
Published starting price
From $29
Pricing page
Not published

Evidence of outcomes

BOutcomes reported by the company or its investors.Company press release reports 100,000+ members, 96% resolution rate, physician response times; self-reported, no named customer confirming: businesswire.com release (funding_source_url).

A: third-party verifiable outcomes · B: outcomes reported by the company or its investors · C: no publicly verifiable outcomes yet. Demos, forecasts and slogans do not count.

FAQ

Is my data used to train AI models?

The company states that data is never used for AI model training and is not sold. Medical records are accessed only with the user's consent, and data is used to deliver care. (Source: https://counselhealth.com)

When can a physician join the conversation?

A licensed physician can join with one click, typically within about 15 minutes during clinical hours of 8am to 9pm, seven days a week. (Source: https://counselhealth.com)

Our read

Editorial view based on public information — not an endorsement.

Fits US adults (18+) wanting quick physician-backed answers, prescriptions and referrals through an AI chat front door. Not a fit outside the US, for minors, controlled substances, or chronic-disease primary care. Public price basis: about $29 per physician visit, or about $300/year for the Signature plan; AI chat is free. Compare state coverage (several states excluded) and what a visit includes against other telehealth options first.

Capabilities

CheckStatusSource
End-to-end delivery (you don't operate the tools)Not stated—
Human review includedConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Site says physicians join AI conversations; press release says physicians step in for diagnosis, prescriptions, referrals.
Signed off by licensed professionals (CPA, attorney…)ConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Board-certified physicians handle consultations and prescriptions via a physician-led medical group.
Works inside your existing systemsNot stated—
Private / on-prem deployment availableNot stated—
API or data exportNot stated—
Multilingual deliveryNot stated—

Commitments

CheckStatusSource
Public delivery SLANot stated—
Outcome-based pricingNot stated—
Refund / satisfaction guaranteeNot stated—
Customer data not used for trainingConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Homepage states data is not sold or used to train AI models.
SOC 2ConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Statement says Counsel is HIPAA compliant and SOC2 secure; no report or date shown.
ISO 27001Not stated—
HIPAAConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29HIPAA statement with Notice of Privacy Practices published.
GDPRNot stated—
Named party responsible for outcomesNot stated—

Funding

$25M Series A, led by a16z and GV (announced 2025-10-16); follows $11M seedAnnouncement

How we check

Every check below links to its source and shows when we checked it. "Not stated" means we found no public statement — it does not mean "no".

Our evaluation checklist →

Other routes

Use a tool yourself

Get it implemented

Sources

  1. Company website: https://counselhealth.com/
  2. SOC 2: https://www.counselhealth.com/hipaa-statement
  3. Funding announcement: https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20251016535098/en/Counsel-Health-Raises-$25M-to-Launch-Physician-Supervised-AI-Front-Door-for-Healthcare

Change history

  • 2026-09-29 · Listed on Toolsfine