Clara
AI-assisted virtual primary care where licensed physicians review prescriptions and lab orders.
Company basics
- HQ
- United States
- Delivery model
- Managed (they run it for you)
- Pricing model
- Subscription
- Starting price
- From $25
Scope
- Industries
- Healthcare
- Regions
- United States (all 50 states)
- Languages
- unstated
About Clara
Clara is an AI-assisted virtual primary care practice for individuals. Members can use AI chats for health questions, get prescriptions and refills, order lab tests with biomarker analysis, sync medical records and receive care plans. Membership tiers differ by number of video visits and included lab testing, and all are stated to be HSA and FSA eligible.
The site states that medical recommendations are confirmed by a licensed clinician in the member's state, and that all prescriptions and lab orders require clinician review before approval. It also states that AI outputs are informational and that clinical decisions are made by Clara's licensed physicians. Clara connects with wearables such as Oura Ring, Fitbit and Peloton and imports records from existing healthcare providers.
On security, the company states that data is encrypted and that it is HIPAA compliant. It also lists LegitScript approval and American Telemedicine Association membership.
What they do
- End-to-end delivery (you don't operate the tools)Source · checked 2026-09-29Covers chronic and acute care, prescriptions, labs and clinical summaries for handoff; physicians sign off.
- Human review includedSource · checked 2026-09-29States every prescription and lab order is reviewed by a licensed physician.
- Signed off by licensed professionals (CPA, attorney…)Source · checked 2026-09-29Licensed physicians in the patient's state review each prescription and lab order.
- Works inside your existing systemsSource · checked 2026-09-29Pulls records from 150,000+ hospitals, labs, pharmacies via health exchanges and syncs wearables.
Pricing
- Pricing model
- Subscription
- Published starting price
- From $25
- Pricing page
- View pricing
Evidence of outcomes
CNo publicly verifiable outcomes yet.Real clinical product with named patient testimonials on askclara.com; no measured outcomes published.
A: third-party verifiable outcomes · B: outcomes reported by the company or its investors · C: no publicly verifiable outcomes yet. Demos, forecasts and slogans do not count.
FAQ
Who makes the clinical decisions?
The site states that all clinical decisions are made by Clara's licensed physicians, and AI-generated output is informational only. (Source: https://askclara.com/pricing)
Are prescriptions and lab orders reviewed?
Yes. The site states all prescriptions and lab orders require clinician review before approval. (Source: https://askclara.com)
How do I get started?
The site directs new members to the Get Started button, which leads to the signup and application page. (Source: https://askclara.com/pricing)
Our read
Editorial view based on public information — not an endorsement.
Capabilities
| Check | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|
| End-to-end delivery (you don't operate the tools) | Confirmed | Source · checked 2026-09-29Covers chronic and acute care, prescriptions, labs and clinical summaries for handoff; physicians sign off. |
| Human review included | Confirmed | Source · checked 2026-09-29States every prescription and lab order is reviewed by a licensed physician. |
| Signed off by licensed professionals (CPA, attorney…) | Confirmed | Source · checked 2026-09-29Licensed physicians in the patient's state review each prescription and lab order. |
| Works inside your existing systems | Confirmed | Source · checked 2026-09-29Pulls records from 150,000+ hospitals, labs, pharmacies via health exchanges and syncs wearables. |
| Private / on-prem deployment available | Not stated | — |
| API or data export | Not stated | — |
| Multilingual delivery | Not stated | — |
Commitments
| Check | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Public delivery SLA | Not stated | — |
| Outcome-based pricing | Not stated | — |
| Refund / satisfaction guarantee | Not offered | Source · checked 2026-09-29Terms say fees are non-refundable. |
| Customer data not used for training | Not offered | Source · checked 2026-09-29Terms say Clara may use user content to train models and keep de-identified data. |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | — |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | — |
| HIPAA | Confirmed | Source · checked 2026-09-29Describes itself as a HIPAA compliant practice; Notice of Privacy Practices published. |
| GDPR | Not stated | — |
| Named party responsible for outcomes | Not stated | — |
Funding
$12M pre-seed led by Y Combinator and A.Capital; also Liquid 2 Ventures, SV Angel and angels, as written in launch postAnnouncement
How we check
Every check below links to its source and shows when we checked it. "Not stated" means we found no public statement — it does not mean "no".
Other routes
Use a tool yourself
Get it implemented
Sources
- Company website: https://askclara.com/
- End-to-end delivery (you don't operate the tools): https://askclara.com/landing/ai-primary-care
- Refund / satisfaction guarantee: https://askclara.com/terms-of-use
- Pricing page: https://askclara.com/pricing
- Funding announcement: https://askclara.com/blog/clara-launch
Change history
- 2026-09-29 · Listed on Toolsfine